Connecticut (CT)

Official State Website
Capital Hartford Largest City Bridgeport

How to Appeal Property Taxes in Connecticut

Under the law, anyone aggrieved by a property tax assessor's actions can appeal those actions to the town's board of assessment appeals. The aggrieved person must do so in writing on or before February 20. The written appeal must include, among other things, the person's name, a description of the property, the reasons for the appeal, and the person's estimate of the property's value (CGS § 12-111). The board must hold a hearing on any appeal except those for commercial, industrial, utility, or apartment properties assessed at over $1 million (CGS § 12-111). In cases where the board must hold a hearing or chooses to hold one, it generally must: 1. notify the appellant of the hearing's date, time, and place by March 1; 2. hold the hearing in March; and 3. decide the appeal by the last business day of March (CGS §§ 12-110 & 12-111). If the board chooses not to hold a hearing on business or apartment property assessed at over $1 million, it must notify the appellant about its decision by March 1. Such an appellant may appeal the board's decision directly to Superior Court (CGS § 12-111).

Visit the State Property Tax Site For More Information
Go Back