Alaska (AK)

Official State Website
Capital Juneau Largest City Anchorage

How to Appeal Property Taxes in Alaska

There are 165 incorporated municipalities (local governments), 19 of which are incorporated into boroughs (boroughs are a rough equivalent to counties) and the remainder are incorporated as cities. Of the 19 boroughs in Alaska, only 15 levy a property tax. Only 9 cities located outside of boroughs levy a property tax; therefore, only 24 municipalities in Alaska (either cities or boroughs) levy a property tax. To file an appeal of the Assessor’s valuation of your property you must file an appeal with the municipality.

Visit the State Property Tax Site For More Information
Go Back